Contact   Imprint   Advertising   Guidelines

First run on new Titan 15,5, please advise

Forum for kitesurfers
Has thanked: 0
Been thanked: 0

First run on new Titan 15,5, please advise

Postby Guest » Fri Aug 01, 2003 7:53 am

Yesterday I went out on my new Titan 15,5. with the Okilled 192 board. Wind was 10mph and I weigh 80kg.

I'm a beginner, the previous 2 times kiting I managed for the first time to really go and stay upwing on my Warrior 12.5.

Everything nice as expected, launch without preinflation........
I got planing quickly but just couldn't get the wing to the front corner of the window in order to edge hard and go upwind. Although the wind was not strong the kite quickly fell back into the center of the powerzone and dragged me downwind hard. Of course I kept the sheeted out as much as possible and I had not shorted the adjuster at all!
The force of this kite is impressive and I look forward to sort out this little problem!

It would be very kind if someone could advise how to solve the problem and let me know if others had a similar problem. Please do not use to specific language since I quite often get confused with all that special words!? Actually I kind of also have the same problem with my warrior, that the kite tends to drop back into the center of the powerzone and then I can't hold the edge anymore!

And a last question: What does "quiver" mean in kite language?

Thanks

urbanr
Medium Poster
Brand Affiliation: None

Postby urbanr » Fri Aug 01, 2003 8:12 am

SB,

It sounds to me as though you're not applying enough pressure on your rear leg.

It's true that sheeting out helps the kite shoot forward to the edge of the window but think of how two-line kiters bring the kite forward - it's all board skills. By digging in with your back leg you're effectively edging harder. This is kind of like applying the brakes on the downwind forces of the kite which in turn forces the kite sideways to the edge of the window.