Contact   Imprint   Advertising   Guidelines

Foilboarding

Forum for kitesurfers
Foilboarder wannabe
Has thanked: 0
Been thanked: 0

Foilboarding

Postby Foilboarder wannabe » Thu Aug 12, 2004 10:53 am

Anyone have any designs for foils that work? I have built a couple of boards, and was thinking about having a go at making a foil to fit to the bottom of one of them. Any thoughts gratefully recieved.

*MARK*
Medium Poster

Postby *MARK* » Thu Aug 12, 2004 12:56 pm

Ive been riding the Air Chair for about 10 yrs now. Spent lots of time thru trial and error modifying the original foil. Im not aware of any "plans" that are available anywhere. I would think the easiest and cheapest route would be to buy a used Air Chair or Sky Ski foil. Then only need to cut off the top part that normally slides up into the seat and replace it with a plate to bolt to the board.
Plus I would imagine that although the two wings could be home made using plates of Aluminum, I dont see how you could do the T-bar at home. Thats the vertical strut and horizontal fueselage that the two wings attached to. 3 1/2 foot tall, 2-2 1/2 ft long. Most of them are one piece castings, although Sky ski has begun making billet (?if thats the word) or machined foils. Both processes difficult at home I would think.
I just traded my old Air chair to a guy in Austin for a kite. He is going to be building a board and converting it to a stand up version with snow board boots.
the only exception I know of to no plans being available is the Airhog. Their web page seems to be down or gone. Last link at the bottom at
http://www.foilfreaks.com/HydrofoilLinks.htm
A homemade wooden Hydrofoil.

MARK

DrM
Medium Poster
Brand Affiliation: None

Postby DrM » Thu Aug 12, 2004 3:56 pm

Everytime I see foilboarding I get that kinda cool feeling just like a did when I first kiteboarding. It looks like a total blast.