Outer Banks NC USA
Long Beach Ontario
Oliphant Ontario
Style: Kite as much as I can
Gear: On sale
Brand Affiliation: None

Offshore winds in Aruba

Postby pecmajor » Sun Nov 25, 2012 5:31 am

Anyone been to Aruba or local knowledge please.
I am looking forward to a one week trip to Aruba in late January. Staying at a small hotel near the Fishermans Huts. I keep reading about off shore winds in the Huts area and am a little worried. There are a lot of kite schools in the area so there must be some kiting going on. Boca Grand has onshore winds and we are renting a car. I would prefer to spend most of my time at the Huts area because my partner does not kite. I like the idea of walking to the spot and kiting just in front of the hotel. I have been kiting for 2 years and can go up wind well. Will I have a problem at the huts? I hear there are rescue boats in case kiters have a problem getting back.
Thanks all, Pec

adamj2281
Very Frequent Poster
Kiting since: 2009
Local Beach: Charleston, SC - Folly Beach
Favorite Beaches: Folly Beach, Wrightsville Beach, Playa Avellanas, Barker's, GC, East End, St. Croix,VI
Style: Surf mostly, some freeride
Gear: Ocean Rodeo Roam 7,12
Ocean Rodeo Crave 9
5'2" North Whip CSC
5'4" Tomo Hydroshort
Nobile 2HD
Slingshot H4 Batwing foil
Brand Affiliation: Ocean Rodeo

Re: Offshore winds in Aruba

Postby adamj2281 » Sun Nov 25, 2012 2:31 pm

I went there 2 years ago and was worried about the same. It is straight offshore at huts, but there are multiple schools there that will come get you if you struggle to stay upwind. The gusts are the issue, and while it wasn't as bad as others made out, it is tricky for newbies I'm sure. There is also a new ritz Carlton being built right in front which will likely make the wind shadow worse. I rode only at huts and had fun making long tracts along shore and no problems staying upwind. All in all, it was fun, because you are in flat, waist deep water right beside your hotel.

RM3001
Rare Poster