Very Frequent Poster
Style: Aggressive
Gear: Nothing Yet
Brand Affiliation: None
Has thanked: 0
Been thanked: 0

Just bought my first set up...

Postby LetsFlyaKite » Sun Apr 26, 2015 5:29 am

Hello everyone, this is my first time on the forums, as well as my first step into the sport. I am super excited to start learning. I just bought a set up off craigslist, and need to know what kind of conditions you guys reccomend I take my gear under. The kite is a 16m Liquid Force Hybrid and board. I weigh 140 lbs. My name is Curtis, I am an a very cool guy that has great potential, and I appreciate whatever kind of helpful advice anyone might have, thanks.
Last edited by LetsFlyaKite on Fri Dec 15, 2017 12:54 pm, edited 1 time in total.

tautologies
Very Frequent Poster

Re: Just bought my first set up...

Postby tautologies » Sun Apr 26, 2015 5:32 am

unless you are trolling here is a free piece of advice that you'll hear a few times:

TAKE A LESSON.

No ifs or anything like that. Just do it.

clint2070
Very Frequent Poster
Local Beach: Strand,Tourmaline,Stinkz,Belmont,Seal.
Favorite Beaches: C St, Naish beach, tourmaline,Strand, cabarete, San Quintin, La Ventana,Rauls,Nungas,Mancora,
Style: surf, freeride
Gear: Naish, Firewire, ride engine,Ford,liquid force, Zeeko.Tomo,

Postby clint2070 » Sun Apr 26, 2015 5:42 am

Hes right. If you dont take a lesson the least thats going to happen is youll spend more money fixing your gear than you would have on a lesson. What year and model is your gear ?

Toby
Very Frequent Poster
Kiting since: 2000
Weight: 95 kg
Local Beach: Cumbuco, Brazil
Barra do Cauipe, Brazil
Favorite Beaches: same
Style: Airstyle
Gear: Rebel 2015 18
Brand Affiliation: None.

Postby Toby » Sun Apr 26, 2015 7:12 am

a 16 is a pretty big kite to start.

What wind conditions are you expecting?

And yes, take lessons...much cheaper than the hospital bill !

Frank82
Frequent Poster
Local Beach: Wijk aan Zee, IJburg, Schellinkhout, Medemblik - Netherlands