Contact   Imprint   Advertising   Guidelines

foil kites vs inflatable racing kites for racing + foil boards vs race boards?

Forum for kitesurfers
hannhann00
Rare Poster
Gear: BWS
Brand Affiliation: None
Has thanked: 0
Been thanked: 0

foil kites vs inflatable racing kites for racing + foil boards vs race boards?

Postby hannhann00 » Mon Dec 26, 2016 6:19 pm

hi I'm new to kiting and have only done a few lessons some time back., although I hope to get back on the water soon. I was recently watching TV and saw some amazing footage of kite racing using foil kites and hydrofoil boards.

I've done a bit of a search but couldn't find any recent relevant info (and i don't mean to start a foil board debate as from what i read it seems to be a slightly heated topic). However I have two main questions-

1) are Foil racing kites "better/ faster" than the inflatable 'racing kites' for racing purposes? what are the main pros and cons (i assume the biggest drawback being if you crashed a foil kite in the water you can't re-launch)? Are there many other sectors of kiting where a foil kite brings much advantage over a traditional kite with the inflatable leading edge or are they mainly only used for racing?

2) are hydrofoil boards faster over a race course than those big racing boards i've seen previously (and have hydrofoil boards replaced the tradtional racing boards in the kite racing scene)?

3) In a open fight race with the same rider what would win or be the most common preference.

cosmo
Medium Poster
Been thanked: 0

Re: foil kites vs inflatable racing kites for racing + foil boards vs race boards?

Postby cosmo » Mon Dec 26, 2016 6:54 pm

I think does not exist any inflatable racing kite now. So think about wich is faster.
For racing: high AR foil kite. Diablos, R1v2, Elf7, FS Sonic2.
...but better? yes, they are better for racing, jumping high and go up wind.

Foilboards goes faster, go upwind better and you dont burn you legs like in a raceboard.