Forum for kitesurfers
espana2323
Rare Poster
Gear: No gear yet
Brand Affiliation: None

Relaunching a kite while holding board

Postby espana2323 » Thu Jul 26, 2018 8:22 am

Hi,

When you guys relaunch a kite at sea and lets say you are next to you board, do you keep hold of the board while attempting to relaunch? Or do you let the board go, launch the kite and then body drag to get it?

When I try to relaunch while holding the board I have a really hard time (I am new at kitesurfing).

Thanks.

apollo4000
Frequent Poster
Kiting since: 2006
Local Beach: Camber / Lancing / Whitstable
Favorite Beaches: The next one
Style: trying hard
Gear: All sorts
Brand Affiliation: Nope. Just a regular Joe.

Re: Relaunching a kite while holding board

Postby apollo4000 » Thu Jul 26, 2018 8:43 am

IMO it’s safety first. Get your kite back up and then recover your board. If it all goes a bit Pete Tong and there’s waves, buoys, underwater hazards, kite eating hazards other kiters, plus your lines are in the water you are a risk to yourself and others; your kite will get you home when in difficulty. Clearly it’s also important to take into consideration the local conditions. Hard to let go of your board as a beginner but it’s best to get the kite up first.

The dilemma of board recovery is a decision scale from body-dragging (best option), Go-Joes (good for distressing when learning), other kiters (hit and miss), taking a risk on the tide or waves doing the job (very hit and miss) then the heresy of reel leashes (expect prison if seen in daylight)....don’t mention, the reel. I mentioned it once and I think I got away with it.

Good luck and have fun.

tomtom
Very Frequent Poster

Postby tomtom » Thu Jul 26, 2018 8:44 am

which board? Twintip, Surfboard, Foilboard? Straped, Strapless?

it depends...

MartinO
Medium Poster
Kiting since: 2001
Local Beach: South Sweden
Favorite Beaches: Grönhögen, Sweden
Style: Freeride
Gear: Naish Pivot, Blade Trigger, Flysurfer Peak4 kites