Contact   Imprint   Advertising   Guidelines

Is my instructor bias regarding buying gear?

Forum for kitesurfers
Yuvallahav
Rare Poster
Local Beach: Ladispoli / Marina di San Nicola
Favorite Beaches: Ladispoli / Marina di San Nicola
Gear: Still browsing
Brand Affiliation: None
Has thanked: 0
Been thanked: 0

Is my instructor bias regarding buying gear?

Postby Yuvallahav » Thu Sep 20, 2018 10:53 am

Hello everyone.
I'm new to Kitesurfing, I've completed (very successfully) the course a couple of weeks ago (about 8 hours in total and I can surf on my own for extended periods of time, surf down wind and up wind, while still, of course, in need to work on my form) and been going to practice almost daily since, so of course I'm looking for gear so I could go an kite when I want to and not rely on my instructor gear. I've purchased a used board and a harness from him which I'm very happy with (both the price, quality and state of the used board and harness) but now that it comes to buying the kite and bar, I'm feeling his need to sell me something with a profit margin overshadows his kite selection.
I'm tall and thin (178 cm, or 5" 10', 65 kilos or 143 pounds), and the winds conditions you find on my local beach (I live 3 minutes from the beach) which people usually kite in is 8-14 knots, and on gusty days it can reach up to 15-20 knots, but those days are not common and normally spell conditions not favorable for kiting. So we're talking about 8-14 knots on average.