Rare Poster
Gear: In progress
Brand Affiliation: None
Has thanked: 0
Been thanked: 0

First wakeboard build

Postby freeskiwake » Sun Aug 13, 2017 9:32 pm

Hello,
I am new to building boards and new to composites too, so I decided to build myself one wakeboard. Idea and materials came to me one year ago but did not make time to build board in summer 2016 I only made rocker table back then. I got some really good informations how to build the wakeboard from forum member Zob , so thanks a lot Zob ( that was one year ago.)

First things first I was searching forums for ski, and kite/wake board building for like 3 years now. I decided to buy paulownia cores and searched the internet. I found one company that specializes in making cores from paulownia like 40 mins away with the car. I got paulownia wood cores for wakeboard for fair price, when i got there forklift was lifting like 2 packets of paulownia cores (like 100cores) on the truck, serious business. :D I just got three of them.

My build plan is- Ptex 0.8mm, Woven 22oz Tri-axial Glass , paulownia core, Woven 22oz Tri-axial Glass, TPU/ABS Topsheet.

First I draw the board in drawing program and printed out the plan. Than I made a model of shape from paulownia wood. After shaping by hand i copied one core to another with router and copy router bit.

Than I made heating chamber for attaching sidewalls to the core. Sidewalls bonded really well with the core. I sanded and heat treat them. One picture in the "oven".

I made a planning table for the router. I managed to make the middle of the board 10,5mm thick and tips are 6,5mm. Took me a long time for precise routing.

Than I sanded it by hand to get the smooth finish as you can see 1/3 of the board is sanded and other half is not.

Then I routed out fin holes.

After I poured pigmented epoxy in fin holes I made holes for inserts too. I poured epoxy with inserts in too.