Can't slow down

A forum dedicated to Hydrofoil riders
mbs
Medium Poster
Gear: Kites and boards
Brand Affiliation: None

Can't slow down

Postby mbs » Fri Apr 28, 2017 6:20 am

I'm a long-time kiter but beginner on the foil. Had my 4th session today and I'm starting to go long stretches up on the foil, but only in straight lines and still crashing a lot.

So here's a beginner question. How do you check your speed, or slow down when you feel like it's getting going too fast? As I'm learning to stay up on the foil it sometimes feels like it accelerates to a speed faster than I want to go, especially because of the inevitable punishment that I know will be coming my way with the crash. What is the technique for spilling off power?

Btw - I feel like I'm progressing pretty fast bc of a lot of good insights that I've read on this forum, so thanks in advance to anyone who can offer advice.
Last edited by mbs on Fri Apr 28, 2017 6:56 am, edited 1 time in total.

airsurfer
Very Frequent Poster
Style: surf and hydrofoil big air and kiteloops
Gear: Ozone,Firewire, Moses, Zeeko,Levitaz, NP, ION

Re: Can't slow down

Postby airsurfer » Fri Apr 28, 2017 6:48 am

keep the kite high and sheet out gradually for more control. Also in most cases heading down wind a bit settles things down you and your kite don't feel as much apparent wind.

Blackrat
Frequent Poster
Local Beach: Jeffreys Bay , South Africa
Gear: old
Has thanked: 0
Been thanked: 0

Postby Blackrat » Fri Apr 28, 2017 7:06 am

Yea keep kite high

And depower the kite as much as possible so that it has just enough power to water start
Use a smaller kite if you have

And then have you hear of the 'downwind' walk of shame ? That because heading upwind with the foil will control speed the best , but getting back is the problem

I remember them high speed runaways , haha

Kamikuza
Very Frequent Poster
Local Beach: Sabae Beach
Favorite Beaches: Ol' Stinky
Gear: This, that, the other

Postby Kamikuza » Fri Apr 28, 2017 10:03 am