Gear: TW Surfboards hydrofoil board 110
Gong Veloce M, 100cm carbon mast
Ozone Hyperlink V1 7m
Hyperlink V2 9m, 13m
Concept Air Wave 4,5m
Brand Affiliation: None

Discovering my spots anew

Postby TomW » Sun May 14, 2017 5:49 pm

I've been kitesurfing my area for 16 years now and I thought I knew my spots. Feeling kinda humbled. On hydrofoil I'm unfortunately finding they have shallow spots, rocks and obstructions where I didn't realize.
So I've bashed my foil against rocks yesterday at a place I've kited a 100 times, and way offshore, it's 70 cm deep and rocks sticking up another 25 cm...
Even further out is a rock reef, but didn't realize it was so shallow in this area.
I also collided with a coral head in Mexico.

Now I'm wondering what's lurking under the surface of my other spots, freaking me out.
I need some kind of forward pointing underwater radar to warn me of impending 💥

Good thing I'm handy, make surfboards and have the materials to fix them.
Interestingly, I bashed the foil yesterday in beginning of session, and kept foiling another hour or so, it was by best session ever.(13th). Looking at it after, I wondered how the thing worked. There was 3mm dings along one half of the front wing edge.
Also makes me realize that having 2 front wings is pretty smart, especially if travelling to rocky spots.

dksurfer
Frequent Poster
Local Beach: Lake Nipissing, North Bay, ON, Canada
Favorite Beaches: Ontario Canada, PEI Canada
Hatteras, North Carolina
Cuba
Style: TT, SB and HF
Gear: 12, 9, 7 North Dice 2016
12 OR Flite 2016
12, 9 North Evo 2014
MHL Lift Foil
Been thanked: 0

Re: Discovering my spots anew

Postby dksurfer » Mon May 15, 2017 3:11 am

Sounds crazy! I have hit a few underwater things at my local spot that I had no idea where there. When you get that radar working let me know...lol

ronnie
Very Frequent Poster

Postby ronnie » Mon May 15, 2017 10:49 am

ronnie wrote:
Mon May 15, 2017 10:47 am
That's what tides are for.