Favorite Beaches: Turks and Caicos - Long Bay
Sail Bay - San Diego
Style: Freeriding
Gear: Flysurfer Speed 4, Boost2, Speed 5, Sonic 2 & Sonic Race
Nobile split boards, Ketos Foils and Boards, Mystic Supporter Harness
Brand Affiliation: None

Advice for flying a LEI

Postby sedluk » Mon May 29, 2017 2:16 am

I have some experience on the foil board and I am feeling more comfortable up on the foil. I prefer using a foil kite, either a Speed 5 or Sonic 2.

Sometimes I launch at a location that requires a water launch and I know that it is possible to water launch a foil kite but would rather get better with my LEI.

I am finding that when I am using a LEI, I am using my Boost 2 kites. I naturally drop the kite down to around 9 or 3 o'clock. This works great with my foil kites, they still have very good steering and I rarely get them wet.

I find that when I do this with the LEI, I find that when the kite gets depowered, the steering gets sloppy and the kite feels front heavy and want to drop into the water. I have been working on keeping the kite up a little higher but wanted to get some advice from other people riding foil boards.

I assume other people are experiencing this, one idea is try an even smaller kite so that the kite is depowered less. The trouble is the wind is up and down, often I would be unable to get going and if I drift to shore, it is all trees and I have to water land and walk in the water along the shore back to the water launch site.

DukeSilver
Medium Poster
Kiting since: 2008
Weight: 82
Local Beach: Melville Beach Western Australia
Favorite Beaches: Graveyards
Style: Hydrofoil, Strapless Surfboard
Gear: Ozone Reo, Ozone Hyperlink, Moses 683s, home built pocket foil board, Cabrinha Skillit

Re: Advice for flying a LEI

Postby DukeSilver » Mon May 29, 2017 4:15 am