A forum dedicated to Hydrofoil riders
Da Yoda
Very Frequent Poster
Kiting since: 2005
Style: Strapless Freestyle, Wave, Freeride
Gear: Handmade Surfboards

Alloy Hydrofoils 2018?

Postby Da Yoda » Sun Mar 11, 2018 9:26 pm

There's about 20 brands (that I know of) offering an alloy hydrofoil. I've read through some reviews and forum posts and I'm curious who's offering the best ones for 2018. My feel is the new Zeeko Bullet and LF Thruster are the top offerings right now. I've also read some good things about the Axis Freeride. Are there any others that should be considered? If so, why?
Sidenote: I've noticed some brands only offer 80cm lengths. What's the trend now? Is 90cm+ overkill? Thanks!
Sorry for my ignorance, but I'm new to hydrofoiling. 8)

slowboat
Very Frequent Poster
Style: wave foiling
Gear: This and that
Brand Affiliation: None

Re: Alloy Hydrofoils 2018?

Postby slowboat » Mon Mar 12, 2018 9:05 am

Da Yoda wrote:
Sun Mar 11, 2018 9:26 pm
There's about 20 brands (that I know of) offering an alloy hydrofoil. I've read through some reviews and forum posts and I'm curious who's offering the best ones for 2018. My feel is the new Zeeko Bullet and LF Thruster are the top offerings right now. I've also read some good things about the Axis Freeride. Are there any others that should be considered? If so, why?
Sidenote: I've noticed some brands only offer 80cm lengths. What's the trend now? Is 90cm+ overkill? Thanks!
Sorry for my ignorance, but I'm new to hydrofoiling. 8)
There are many good foils out there and their performance characteristics vary quite a bit. May get more answers if you state specifically what you are looking for.

Kamikuza
Very Frequent Poster
Local Beach: Sabae Beach
Favorite Beaches: Ol' Stinky
Gear: This, that, the other

Postby Kamikuza » Mon Mar 12, 2018 10:02 am

What he said re. specifics.