Contact   Imprint   Advertising   Guidelines

Foiling. What next?

A forum dedicated to Hydrofoil riders
tomtom
Very Frequent Poster

Foiling. What next?

Postby tomtom » Wed May 02, 2018 8:19 am

So!

I can ride - I'm in control, I can do S turns. I can return /go downwind/. I can ride strapless, but still feel more in control with very loose barely touching my foot front strap /the central one/.
So what to do next? My downwind isn't very good - angle aren't good - my no natural direction is better in this regard. I feel like if I cannot initiate turn by myself - I do it with kite redirection. meaning front side turns - backsides are easy. The less powered I'm the more in control and more relaxed it is.

So!
What to do next? How to progress? My background is 20 years of kiting last 7 strapless surfboard where i can jibe and tack. What is first turn to learn? Should I continue with central front strap /which is for me impossible to jibe, because foot is stuck in to while turning to toeside and riding with 2 front straps race setup feels completely wrong to me /I just cant "surf"/? Or should I go strapless even though less in control. Or should i learn toeside riding first? Then strap a or strapless? What is your typical progress? What is easy and what is advaced?

Im eager to learn!

Many many thanks

Tomas, Moses Onda, lei kites 7,9,12

gmb13
Very Frequent Poster
Kiting since: 1998
Local Beach: Flag Beach, Fuerteventura
Style: Everything
Gear: Indiana, Sailmon
Brand Affiliation: Indiana, Sailmon

Re: Foiling. What next?

Postby gmb13 » Wed May 02, 2018 8:50 am

Hi Tomas,

Glad to hear you are progressing. It is time to get rid of the single strap and go strapless. Being able to shift your front foot position will give you better control, which will also give you more confidence in the manoeuvres.

You can learn toeside riding with or without the strap, but I would recommend trying it strapless first.

--
Gunnar

slowboat
Very Frequent Poster
Style: wave foiling