HugoMC
Medium Poster
Local Beach: Dolly
Style: Freeride
Gear: Gaastra Pure :)
Brand Affiliation: None

How good do you have to be to foil?

Postby HugoMC » Mon Nov 05, 2018 1:23 pm

Hi, I am new to Kiteboarding (5months) but have progressed quickly as I live in a windy spot and have a background in other watersports. I am at the point that I can ride upwind, transition and jump.

I want to learn to kite foil as I love the idea of racing and also getting out on days when the wind is lighter. My question is how good do you have to be? My current plan is to buy a Cabrinha double agent and learn on a directional and then move to the foil. Is this a good idea?

CCollins
Rare Poster
Local Beach: Alcudia, Es trenc, Deltebro
Favorite Beaches: Sal, Peniche, Obidos, IJmuiden
Style: Mostly waves
Gear: Ocean Rodeo, Cabrinha, North
Has thanked: 0
Been thanked: 0

Re: How good do you have to be to foil?

Postby CCollins » Mon Nov 05, 2018 1:30 pm

I started foiling a couple months ago and am still learning. I think the more time you spend on a directional the easier and less painful foiling will be (there's always going to be a pretty steep learning curve though!). I would recommend trying as many differently directional board types as you can skim, Alaia, race, and different surf boards. In my case this got me used to moving weight around as needed as each type of board needs different weight balance.
Foiling is still completely different but it gets you away from the back footed twin tip muscle memory which will make it a hard transition.
Good luck!

grigorib
Very Frequent Poster
Kiting since: 2009
Local Beach: OBX; Clinton Lake, IL; Lake Michigan; Hood River; La Ventana; Ocean Park, PR; SPI; Tawas, MI
Gear: Kites: Slingshot Rally 5/7/9/11m, Turbine 9/13m, SST 4/5m, UFO 3/5/7/9m, Flysurfer Speed4 10m standard, Flysurfer 2cool 6m, Peter Lynn Venom II ARC 16m