Local Beach: Puntone
Gear: Mikeslab Bullet (3,4,.....)
Brand Affiliation: lecca-lecca / Mikeslab
Has thanked: 0

DIY Foil Kites

Postby stefmoris » Sun Dec 06, 2015 1:35 am

After learning a lot from my first attempt,

link to Kiteforum Post

I decided to make two new kites, free ride for hydrofoils, in time for a trip to Baja this winter:

6.5 M2, 19 cells, 5.2 aspect ratio, 1.22 kg.

11 M2, 27 cells, 5.7 aspect ratio, 1.92 kg.

I've made many changes and what I hope will be improvements, and designed in some subtle differences between the two new ones to maximise my learning. I've reduced the cell count (maybe too much?) and added mini ribs for a clean trailing edge release. I'm also using leading edge battens on all ribs now instead of mylars. For my abilities and design goals( I'm an intermediate hydrofoiler and beginner with foil kites), I think a low cell count should work ok for me.

I'm giving my kite creations a name now, "lecca-lecca" which means lollipop in Italian. I have a day job but enjoy being out on my own creations.

I'll be at North Beach in Los Barilles the week before Christmas if any body wants to talk shop, take them for a ride (assuming they work!!), and drink a beer.

I'm looking forward to finally trying other foil kites on the trip as well.

Click on the pics to go to the high res version if you want to zoom in on the details.

:) -stef

fpvSB
Medium Poster
Local Beach: Leadbetter, Santa Barbara
Style: Nasty
Gear: LiquidForce, Zeeko
Been thanked: 0

Re: DIY Foil Kites

Postby fpvSB » Sun Dec 06, 2015 3:56 am

Absolutely awesome. This is something I might be able to convince my mom to make once designed :lol:

Did you end up using standard reflex instead of adding a bunch? Sadly from what I've seen, high cell counts are where it's at for foil kites. The ribs spanning from leading to trailing edge give much more structure.