Rakky
Medium Poster
Gear: North Neo
Brand Affiliation: None
Has thanked: 0
Been thanked: 0

Learning Foil kites

Postby Rakky » Mon Aug 08, 2016 5:32 am

I am new to the foil kites and hydrofoil.
I will learn HF first with LEI, but am very interested in learning to fly foil kites.
I have been kiting for about 4-5 years. Love the sport.
Should I buy a trainer kite? or take lessons - can't find any schools that teach foil kiting (Bay Area, California)
The kites/bridles - seems a whole new area of learning. I was watching the Foil Race in SF over the last few days, and even the high level competitors were having trouble getting the kites up/inflating, and a few were delayed joining the race! Seems tricky
End goal is to try a few races

foilholio
Very Frequent Poster
Local Beach: Ventura Beach
Favorite Beaches: Tarifa
Style: Airstyle
Gear: Foils

Re: Learning Foil kites

Postby foilholio » Mon Aug 08, 2016 8:01 am

Buy a Pansh A15. Cheap great kite, flys fine out of the bag. An ultralight 12 or 15 or maybe even 18 would be great with a hydrofoil. After/if you are happy with that consider getting a race foil kite.

Mossy 757
Very Frequent Poster
Local Beach: First Landing State Park, Virginia Beach Oceanfront
Style: Kitefoil
Gear: Delta Hydrofoil and board. Cabrinha Velocity 9m, Flysurfer Sonic2 11m, Ozone R1V2 15m

Postby Mossy 757 » Mon Aug 08, 2016 5:42 pm

Rakky wrote:End goal is to try a few races
If this is your goal ^
foilholio wrote:Buy a Pansh A15.
Definitely DO NOT do this ^

I'm not sure why Foilholio tries to sell a Pansh kite to every newbie that posts on this forum, maybe their sponsored affiliate program is really lucrative or something, but it would be a really bad idea to buy that kite if you're going to try to get into racing in the SF bay area, 100% wasted money and nobody there will own one so they couldn't possibly help you set it up or fix it if (when) it gets out of tune or comes from the factory messed up (as they reportedly often do).