Here you can exchange your experience and datas about your home build boards
Zandman
Rare Poster
Gear: Zeeko
Brand Affiliation: None
Been thanked: 0

Where to start?

Postby Zandman » Mon Oct 08, 2018 8:29 pm

I would like to start a build project for the winter. (and will not stop there!)

There is a ventilated space I can use, assume no tools but I'm ok to buy as I progress in my skills.

I've read many many hours here and elsewhere but I'm still lost!
There are so many techniques materials and tools that I do not know where to start...
I have no prior experience.

How would you recommend me to start (technique & learning resources? ) for an 135cm foil board (plate) with relatively high rocker(beginner friendly)?
Is it realistic target? if not, where should I start?

socommk23
Frequent Poster
Local Beach: Hill head
Favorite Beaches: Brean. Uphill. Pembrey. Hill head. Meon shore
Style: Keeping the kite dry....hopefully
Gear: F.one diablo 15, 11 and 8m . Pansh aurora2 15m. Pansh sprints and firsts and Adams and flux .
Has thanked: 0

Re: Where to start?

Postby socommk23 » Mon Oct 08, 2018 8:54 pm

Clearwater hydrofoil! Great starting point for any home build.

Zandman
Rare Poster

Postby Zandman » Mon Oct 08, 2018 10:12 pm

Thanks, building a whole foil is an overkill for me.
My idea is to focus on the board only.
I did not find a board tutorial in their videos.

I've seen many other videos for boards but I have a gap on how to put the inserts where the foil is mounted?
Shall I use this method with epoxy? Will it hold or it is not strong enough for the foil/board connection?

downunder
Very Frequent Poster
Gear: building my own

Postby downunder » Tue Oct 09, 2018 7:29 am

Start with KISS.

I am quite the opposite, did not read anything simply b/c my approach is different. Tools are, of course, the same, but how one is using it is not.