Duncan
Rare Poster
Brand Affiliation: None
Has thanked: 0
Been thanked: 0

Ozone Frenzy or alternatives

Postby Duncan » Mon Jan 26, 2004 8:08 pm

Hi,

I've been using tubekites for kitesurfing in the UK for about two years. I am in Canada for the winter and fancy getting into snowkiting. The Frenzy seems to be the kite of choice at the mo. I weigh 70kg and average local wind is between 10-25 kph. The site I want to use currently has about 40cm of fairly soft powder. What size would work best?

Also, where in Canada can I get hold of these kites (so I don't have to pay huge duty from the States) and what sort of price am I looking at?

Finally, any alternatives to the Ozones?

I look forward to the advice

Cheers

Duncan

kiteny
Medium Poster

Postby kiteny » Mon Jan 26, 2004 8:36 pm

Hi! I just did a huge amount of research into snow kites, and ordered a Frenzy 7.3. I'm about 86 kg (190 pounds). Here's the quick scoop on what I found:
- for snow use, the Frenzy is by far the best price/performance deal. There are a lot of kites out there I feel are inferior to the Frenzy, but cost quite a bit more.
- I was told that for bigger people (like me), the 7.3 is best for medium to strong wind, and the 12 for light wind; for smaller people, the 5 and 9.5 are the ideal combination
- Other than the Frenzy, the flysurfer kites stood out in my mind, particularly as they are closed-cell foils, and good for water as well. Without actually flying one, however, I can't tell you for sure, and they are very expensive.