Rare Poster
Gear: Windsurf
Brand Affiliation: None
Has thanked: 0
Been thanked: 0

Need advice on kite I should buy

Postby Ghost1 » Thu Dec 04, 2014 2:28 pm

Hi there,

I have been windsurfing for 4 years and am looking to try kiting. I want to start in the winter with my skis in the snow. Then try with my snowboard. Then perhaps next summer try it on water. When windsurfing in lighter winds I am always so jealous of the kites that are planing back and forth across the water while I slog around. I typically need 15kts+ to get planing and that doesn't happen a lot.

Anyway, for the winter what is a good size kite to have? I weigh 175lbs. I live in Ontario Canada and would probably need a kite for 10-25kt of wind. Is there one kite that will fill that range? I'm guessing I would need a different kite for the snow than the water.

Also, can I use my windsurfing waist harness for kiting? Or do most kiters use a seat harness?

I have been practicing flying a kite with a pansh(spelling?) 3m training kite. Although this trainer has 2 handles instead of a bar, not sure if that is good?

Thanks for the advice,
Jonathan

matthepp
Frequent Poster
Local Beach: RMP
Favorite Beaches: La Ventana
Kino Bay
Red Mountain Pass
Style: Rich
Gear: OR Flite 15m
OR Razor 12m
OR Prodigy 7m 9.5m
BD Carbon Megawatts
Slingshot Dwarfcraft/ Gamma 68
Brand Affiliation: Alpine Edge Engineering

Re: Need advice on kite I should buy

Postby matthepp » Thu Dec 04, 2014 4:21 pm

Jonathan,
Welcome to kiteboarding! You'll likely pick it up fast. Sounds like you're on the right track flying trainer and starting on skis. You could tinker with the trainer to convert it to a bar with kite-killer safety line.

Do a search here. There are a million similar posts.

There are many opinions on kite type. In short, a good beginner inflatable, Ozone or HQ open cell foil, new FS Peak are all good options. Look around your area and see what works for others.