Windstoked
Medium Poster
Local Beach: Thermalito Afterbay and Sherman Island, California
Gear: Core
Brand Affiliation: None
Has thanked: 0

Alpine Touring Binding Placement for Snowkiting

Postby Windstoked » Mon Jan 11, 2016 4:22 pm

I just purchased a pair of Salomon Q98 skis and Marker Baron bindings for accessing snowkite sites that require a short to moderate skin in from the road, and seek advice regarding binding placement position.
I'm an expert downhill skier and have good skis for that, so these will be almost exclusively for snowkiting. Setting the bindings back from the standard position was advised by the ski shop if planning to ski lots of deeper or heavier snow.
However, the weighting dynamics of snowkiting are completely different, and I often find myself weighting backwards to counteract the kite pull. Also, when landing a boost into deep snow I shift back to prevent crashing over frontwards.
It seems that setting the bindings farther back would be advantageous for snowkiting, but can't find any info on that. Any advice is appreciated.

Hardwater Kiter
Frequent Poster
Style: Rough and tumble
Gear: Ram air and single skin Foil kites. Long skis to truck, short skis to huck.
Brand Affiliation: www.hardwaterkiter.com Authorized retailers of Flysurfer. Ozone, HQ kites and Gin kites.

Re: Alpine Touring Binding Placement for Snowkiting

Postby Hardwater Kiter » Mon Jan 11, 2016 5:26 pm

I have never mounted a non-park ski with a reward bias for kiting. Unless your skis are crazy short and you aren't getting enough lift in the front, even with the rocker maybe I would consider it but then you do so at the loss of tail.

In terms of weighting dynamics for myself I ski the ski the same way I would if on the hill. You shouldn't be too far in the back seat on the kite any more than without a kite. Your weight should be out, not back.