Rare Poster
Gear: A few Access foils
Kahoona 12
Rally 14, 15
Learning on a 6m WASP
Brand Affiliation: None

Should I snag a cheap Aeros Gyro?

Postby soplo » Tue Jan 09, 2018 12:35 am

Hi, there’s a used-once Gyro in my area that seems like a good deal. But I’m new to kiting and the only person I’ve talked to isn’t familiar with that kite. It should be decent for my size/needs while I develop and figure out what full-priced kite(s) to get—or if this one's all I need. Right now I just have a trainer. So, any input, positive or negative on the Gyro? I have no idea what year the kite is… I just don’t want to get a bargain on something that’s notorious for safety issues or something.

Only thing I’ve found is this short thread: viewtopic.php?t=2333916.

Thank you!

mbevo
Medium Poster
Local Beach: Hood River
Gear: cabinha and switch
Has thanked: 0
Been thanked: 0

Re: Should I snag a cheap Aeros Gyro?

Postby mbevo » Tue Jan 09, 2018 12:42 am

I would get a more recent depowerable kite if I were you. Winter winds can be quite gusty and last thing you want is to get spanked by gusts when you are learning. Bite the bullet and get a newer ozone or flysurfer kite, or if you are ever interested in kitesurfing get a newer 3 strut LEI.

soplo
Rare Poster
Gear: A few Access foils
Kahoona 12
Rally 14, 15
Learning on a 6m WASP

Postby soplo » Tue Jan 09, 2018 4:42 pm

Good to know, thank you.
mbevo wrote:
Tue Jan 09, 2018 12:42 am
...last thing you want is to get spanked by gusts when you are learning.
I'd say that describes me accurately. It's no use saving money now if I'll just spend it at the Emergency Room later.

migel1976
Rare Poster
Kiting since: 2015
Local Beach: Moscow region
Style: Freeride
Gear: Kites Airush Lithium 8, FlySurfer Soul 10, 15; Boards Flydoor 170x50, Shin Pinbot 141x44, Hydrofoil Mday 1050 cm

Postby migel1976 » Tue Jan 09, 2018 5:58 pm