Rare Poster
Gear: None
Brand Affiliation: None
Has thanked: 0
Been thanked: 0

Cabrinha ACE twin tip reviews and opinions

Postby Akios » Sun Mar 29, 2015 12:42 am

Hey guys!

I have been wakeboarding for many years and now would like to get into kiteboarding! My problem is understanding the various types of boards and styles and figuring out what exactly I want. I have saved up a decent amount of money and would like to invest in good gear that will last me for years, but due to my inexperience Im worried about spending money on the "wrong" equipment.

I have been doing some research and am warming up to the Cabrinha ACE twintip. It seems like a quality board with lots of versatility and a fair amount of forgivness. Are my assumptions wrong? Does anyone have any advice on this board specifically for a relativley new rider? What about good kites to pair with the board?

Any advice is welcome. Thanks in Advance. Apologies if this is the wrong sub-forum for this topic
Attachments
2015_cabrinha_ace_size-1.jpeg
2015_cabrinha_ace_size-1.jpeg (35.19 KiB) Viewed 3663 times

rynhardt
Very Frequent Poster
Local Beach: Langebaan
Favorite Beaches: Langebaan
Style: Freeride
Gear: Cloud C2 17
Hoff Twinwave

Re: Cabrinha ACE twin tip reviews and opinions

Postby rynhardt » Sun Mar 29, 2015 5:53 am

I suggest getting a big 2nd hand board with 5cm fins until you're comfortable staying upwind. Your local kite community may have some going cheap.

Then once you have a better feel for what you want and what your local conditions are, get a better board.

Coming from a wakeboard background myself, I switched back to boots as soon as I could stay upwind, but until then you may find straps easier.

C Johnson
Very Frequent Poster
Local Beach: Seattle / Hood River
Style: Freeride, Surf, Foil
Gear: whatever I want
Brand Affiliation: Cabrinha

Postby C Johnson » Mon Mar 30, 2015 2:38 am