Lightwind kite sizing

Forum for kitesurfers
Larry
Rare Poster
Brand Affiliation: None
Has thanked: 0
Been thanked: 0

Postby Larry » Thu May 09, 2002 6:23 am

I am new to Kiteboarding (I bought an 8.5-old measure-Wipika last year and found it too small for the local conditions). I have windsurfed for 25 years. I am 175 lbs., 46 years old, use a 6 foot board and want to kiteboard in light wind conditions. I don't expect to ever be a big-air-great rider and will probably still pull out my windsurfer when the wind starts to rip. I'm on a lake where it often blows 10-15 knots with gusts to 20. I am thinking I should buy either a 14 or 16 meter kite and am leaning toward a Naish Aero. Which size would be best for me. I want to plane in light conditions but am concerned I may not be able to handle 16 meters in the gusts.

<font size=-1>[ This Message was edited by: Larry on 2002-05-09 07:29 ]</font>

Toby
Very Frequent Poster
Kiting since: 2000
Weight: 95 kg
Local Beach: Cumbuco, Brazil
Barra do Cauipe, Brazil
Favorite Beaches: same
Style: Airstyle
Gear: Rebel 2015 18
Brand Affiliation: None.

Postby Toby » Thu May 09, 2002 10:27 am

Hi Larry,

Welcome! :wink:

Depending on your skills and weight you should go for the smaller kite.
Gusts of 20 knts are strong when using a 16 sqm, but also 14 sqm.
I'm an advanced rider and can handle gusts like this with a 16 sqm.
One day you will be able too. But for the beginning it is better to take a smaller one.
Also a 14 is more fun to ride with since it is faster.
And the Aero 14 is a good choice, easy to handle and restart.

Cheers
Toby

Mega-Air
Rare Poster

Postby Mega-Air » Thu May 09, 2002 1:08 pm

Get your hands on a F-one Mach 12.1 or the 15.1 than your set dude.

Postby Guest » Thu May 09, 2002 3:53 pm