leading edge diameter

Forum for kitesurfers
crasher
Medium Poster
Has thanked: 0
Been thanked: 0

leading edge diameter

Postby crasher » Fri May 20, 2005 3:31 am

I'm not an aeronautical engineer but I used to fly airplanes before I realized that I could have a lot more fun for a lot less money kiteboarding.

My basic understanding of an inflatable kite is that it works like the wing of an airplane. In other words,the fact that the leading edge is bigger compared to the trailing edge is the reason why it can generate lift.

So my questions are:

Is my understanding correct?

And, if so, is there some point at which the leading edge becomes so small that the kite will no longer generate lift?

Dax
Very Frequent Poster
Brand Affiliation: None

Postby Dax » Fri May 20, 2005 3:43 am

It's not just the LE tube that creates the foil of the wing, the cut of the canopy and shape of struts also create shape that gives the kite lift. This isn't just for the Hellfish, this is for any kite.

The main reason for the LE's and struts being as big as they are is to support the structure of the kite. Some may claim that giving a bigger LE would give you more lift, but ultimately its creating drag and adding a lot of extra weight.

Pretty much all the companies are advertising smaller LE's as features this year. None as small as the LE on the Hellfish though, and none without the need for a 5th line or bridles to support the thinner LE.

Best R & D
Rare Poster

Postby Best R & D » Fri May 20, 2005 6:07 am

Drag, weight, stretch and torque are main factors where we can optimize the ILE kite. Cuben fiber material allows us to achieve better results in these aspects.

Sure we need a profile and the LE needs to be bigger than the TE, but the ratio is important and all other factors of the design need to fit together.