Forum for kitesurfers
feli
Medium Poster
Brand Affiliation: None
Has thanked: 0
Been thanked: 0

anyone on STARKITES?

Postby feli » Sat Jun 02, 2007 9:48 am

Since i found out about Starkites i wanna try the Stopper-system. They use an ADJUSTABLE Spinlock that works on a plastik center-line (similar to the centerline of Cabrinha kites).
BUT IT IS NOT POSSIBLE TO BUY ONLY THE SPINLOCK!!! And who spends about 300 euro for the complete bar when all you need is the tiny Spinlock?

So i am thinking about to buy a complete kite though i need a smaller one for strong winds.

Has anybody experience with these kites? I am a beginner and use Cabrinha SB2 only. Are they similar???

kitesurfgrancanaria
Medium Poster
Gear: flysurfer

Starkites

Postby kitesurfgrancanaria » Sat Jun 02, 2007 7:00 pm

I have an 13 and a 8.
The 8 is an amazing kite, it may seem too fast on the beggining but after a couple of sessions you'll love it
Definitely recommended.
Cheers. CRIS

lucie
Frequent Poster
Style: freestyle
Gear: Airush Diamond kites and Airush Diamond board.

Postby lucie » Sat Jun 02, 2007 7:21 pm

I haven't flown this years starkite. I learnt on one last year - I had the 8m and loved it. I flew it in everything from 14kts to 30+kts - weight 55 kgs, 127 x 38.5cm board and on flat water (in fact the avatar to the left is me riding the 8m a couple of months after I started learning). The bar was - I now realise - quite heavy but I understand that you can take off the pulleys this year and the bar will be lighter. Having said that, the pulleys worked great for me when learning as turning errors were softened. If this year's starkite is as good as last year's then I would go for it. The only adjustment I made was to put a flexifoil quick release on the chicken loop, as I didn't like the original one a whole lot - and to be honest the stopper came off my bar after a few goes, but I found I didn't need the stopper anyway.