finalsound
Rare Poster
Local Beach: Tybee Island GA, Mud Lake ID
Brand Affiliation: None
Has thanked: 0
Been thanked: 0

Wakestyle/PKRA Style Question...

Postby finalsound » Mon Oct 22, 2007 3:25 pm

I'm kind of new to kiting, been riding a year. Long enough though to start developing my taste as far as style is concerned. I love what Hadlow is doing in his new video, as well as the Lenten stuff, and the North riders in the Vegas 08 demo video. But I do feel a bit out of the loop as far as the background dialog about riding styles. I think I understand the criticisms of old school boosting freestyle, dangle-passes etc, but I've also heard people criticizing the riding style in the PKRA. I'm not really sure what is meant by "PKRA way of riding." Can anyone explain the nuances within the wakestyle school for me? Maybe examples of riders, what the PKRA is encouraging etc? Anyone who's been around a while and has any thoughts on this please chime in. :)

nab1000
Very Frequent Poster
Local Beach: 757, 252
Style: Wake
Gear: LF HiFi's, Influence 138, LF Cabs
Brand Affiliation: Wave Riding Vehicle Surfboards

Postby nab1000 » Mon Oct 22, 2007 3:51 pm

true wakestyle is done with your kite as close to the water as possible. 45 degrees.... ect.... we critisize the pkra judging and everything because let just say langeree goes and throws a double handle pass or double "dangle pass" with his kite straight above him, so he has more lift, but less power. He will recieve more points than hadlow if hadlow goes and throws a switch back mobe with his kite at 45 degrees. Hadlows trick is twice as hard, powerfull, and stylish but still recieves less points. If you watch hadlows video he describes where he wants to take the sport, and the way he describes it is just where wakestyle needs to be. Powerful and stylish.

my opinion though that TRUE wakestyle style can only be done with full wake bindings.

Mash-denmark
Rare Poster

Postby Mash-denmark » Mon Oct 22, 2007 4:36 pm