Contact   Imprint   Advertising   Guidelines

I need something for light winds. Please!

Forum for kitesurfers
FICO90
Rare Poster
Brand Affiliation: None
Has thanked: 0
Been thanked: 0

I need something for light winds. Please!

Postby FICO90 » Tue Dec 11, 2012 11:29 am

Hey,
I've a bit of a problem. I've been looking out my window for the last two weeks at nothing over 8kts. I am going completely crazy. I am new enough to the game but already it has become like a drug and I need my fix.
Does anybody know of a kite that will even just get me up and free riding around the place? I am a student (about 75kgs) so my budget is fairly limited but I am not super tight either. Also it's Christmas so I might be able to convince the family to go all in on quadruple Christmas present.
Please help,
Depressed kitesurfer

Toby
Very Frequent Poster
Kiting since: 2000
Weight: 95 kg
Local Beach: Cumbuco, Brazil
Barra do Cauipe, Brazil
Favorite Beaches: same
Style: Airstyle
Gear: Rebel 2015 18
Brand Affiliation: None.

Re: I need something for light winds. Please!

Postby Toby » Tue Dec 11, 2012 12:03 pm

8 knots is really light...you need a bigger bosrd and kite...
A big twintip like a door type or a directional will do.
For kites, look for race kites up to 2012 if new is too expensive.

naishdude
Very Frequent Poster
Local Beach: Holland
Spain
Danemark
France
Favorite Beaches: everywhere at the seaside, where it is allowed to kite
Style: cruising& wave
Gear: Airush Sector 54 V5, Cypher5'8 active, compact 5'6, Compact5'5 active, Limit Waves custom 5'6
Ozone reo V5 12 9 7 5
Brand Affiliation: none

Postby naishdude » Tue Dec 11, 2012 12:33 pm

FICO90 wrote:Hey,
I've a bit of a problem. I've been looking out my window for the last two weeks at nothing over 8kts. I am going completely crazy. I am new enough to the game but already it has become like a drug and I need my fix.