Contact   Imprint   Advertising   Guidelines

2 weeks in Cabarete -- good for beginner?

Forum for kitesurfers
DCnoob
Rare Poster
Kiting since: 2013
Gear: N/A
Brand Affiliation: None
Has thanked: 0
Been thanked: 0

2 weeks in Cabarete -- good for beginner?

Postby DCnoob » Sat Dec 28, 2013 4:12 am

Hi all. I'm a total beginner to the sport; the only thing I've done is 10 hours with my trainer kite on land.

I need to use some airline miles before late March, and I'm considering using them for a flight to Cabarete in either February or March. I'd spend between one week and two, and treat it as an intensive trip to learn how to kite board.

I've searched extensively on the topic of whether Cabarete is good for beginners. There are a few posts here and there but I couldn't find much, so I'm asking.

Do you think that Cabarete for one or two weeks in February/March would be a good way to learn? And if not, any other Caribbean or US destinations you can recommend? I'm based in DC.

Thanks!

peterheirman
Medium Poster
Kiting since: 8
Local Beach: 2002

Re: 2 weeks in Cabarete -- good for beginner?

Postby peterheirman » Sat Dec 28, 2013 9:36 am

It is choppy up to the reef. Less choppy at kitebeach than in the main Cabarete bay.
At high tide there can be a shorebreak.
The waves on the reef are clean and fine but I doubt you will be able to handle them already.

Stay away from the windsurf zone in front of Cabarete center 'village' as it is for windsurfers only and more gusty.

rtz
Very Frequent Poster
Kiting since: 2010
Favorite Beaches: OBX
SPI
Style: Freeride
Gear: SlingShot, Switch.

Postby rtz » Sat Dec 28, 2013 12:35 pm

3 places in Texas to take lessons. And 3 places alone in just SPI.

Houston: http://www.xlkiteboarding.com/page.asp?region=7

Corpus Christi: http://www.kiteboarding.com/kiteboarding-lessons.asp

SPI:

http://www.southpadreislandkiteboarding.com/

http://www.airpadrekiteboarding.com/

http://prokitesouthpadre.com/