Gear: North Evo and North Dice
Brand Affiliation: None
Has thanked: 0
Been thanked: 0

north evo 2013 vs north evo 2014 - beginner level

Postby moochacha26 » Sun Mar 01, 2015 5:25 pm

hello,guys!

I am new here and I am also new in this crazy mind blowing sport! :heartface:

I am about to buy my first equipment, I will go for second hand and I am facing a difficult decision.
I have 2 very smilar options (regarding the kite's condition, price and trust level in the seller): North Evo 2013 and North Evo 2014.
I have read that there is a change in design from one year to another and the 2014 is not as suitable for beginners as the 2013 one. The 2013 is easy to relaunch from the water - a thing that is very important to me as a beginner - as I still drop the kite a lot.
So which one should I go for?

Also, should I take a 5 line bar? I am only at waterstart level and any extra line sound more complicated.

Thanks a lot for your advice! :bye:

UnderWindPower
Rare Poster
Gear: 2011 North Evo

Re: north evo 2013 vs north evo 2014 - beginner level

Postby UnderWindPower » Sun Mar 01, 2015 8:43 pm

If the condition of both kites is the same and the money is the same, then the youngest kite is always a good idea (for resale, hidden ware n tear, bladders etc). I can't comment on the design changes. But i imagine that both should be good at launching off the water after a crash. I learned on a 2011 evo, and it was such a nice kite. Great, almost auto-relaunch!

As for 5 vs 4 line, well the jury is still out on that. I use a 5 line system and have never had issues with the extra line. The complete depower you get when you release the kite to safety is really good and adds a good deal of safety. I don't think the four line bars from 13/14 had 100% depower flag-out...they used a front line, and you'd get a bit of pull, especially if the kite was falling erratically during those magic couple of seconds.

The new four line bars have changed this behaviour i believe.