Contact   Imprint   Advertising   Guidelines

First board and kite advice

Forum for kitesurfers
pzykt
Rare Poster
Style: Freeride
Gear: No gear of my own yet. That's why I'm here :)
Brand Affiliation: None
Has thanked: 0
Been thanked: 0

First board and kite advice

Postby pzykt » Sat May 23, 2015 6:33 pm

Hey guys,

I'm new to this forum and new to kiteboarding for that matter. I'm currently looking at buying my first board and kite, but like I said I'm a total noob :baby: so a little help wouldn't hurt...

I live in Geneva (Switzerland) near the lake so I guess I'll be riding here most of the time although I don't mind driving a 2-3 hour distance regularly if the winds call for it. Winds on lake Geneva average at about force 3-4 in the summer and around 4-5 in spring and fall (I'll probably be snowboarding more in the wintertime). Speaking of, I've been practicing snowboarding and skateboarding since more than 15 years and I used to sail quite a lot, so I suspect I'll be progressing quite fast. My local dealer recommends that I get my hands on the following North 2015 freeride pack:

- X-RIDE board
- EVO sail with a QUAD CONTROL bar

See the following link for more detailed info and images: http://technosurf.ch/shop/kitesurf/225- ... m2_200_chf

After google shopping the entire web, this seems to be a good bang for buck for the type of gear I'm interesting in; something I can stick to as I evolve. What do you guys think?

Now to my main question: What board and kite sizes should I go for?
I'm 1m78 (5'10'') and weigh around 70kg (155 lbs). Like I said earlier I'm looking at buying only one kite for now so where's a good starting point for the conditions I stated above?? I might add that I'm planning on going to the south of France and possibly the Canary Islands in the relatively near future, but I might need a smaller kite for that right???