Rare Poster
Gear: - North Rebel 2013
- North X-Ride board 2014
Brand Affiliation: None
Has thanked: 0
Been thanked: 0

Is my kite back staling ?

Postby Nisselua » Sun Jun 14, 2015 11:07 pm

Hi. I am relatively new to kiteboarding and have some questions :)

Ever since I bought my North Rebel 2013 kite (5th element) I have had some problems with getting it to stay in the power zone. I know that if my back lines are shorter then my front line that it can backstall, but as I checked the length I realised that they where the same length. However, so every time I bring my kite down to the power zone and get on the board, the kite is not responsive enough for me to get it back up to 12 before I fall back in the water. The bar looses all its power and the backlines seem to be much longer then the front lines.. Any ideas ? I have been trying to read about it a lot, but I have not managed to crack the code..

Faxie
Very Frequent Poster
Local Beach: Netherlands. Maasvlakte, Slufter, Domburg, Brouwersdam, Ouddorp, Vrouwenpolder, Grevelingen.
Style: Freeride, freestyle, wave.
Gear: Crazyfly Hyper 7, 9, 12 Crazyfly Bulldozer 2020 Firewire Hellrazor 6.1 timbertek Shinn Shinnster.

Re: Is my kite back staling ?

Postby Faxie » Sun Jun 14, 2015 11:17 pm

Are you depowering the kite te get it back up? You should not keep pulling the bar, because then you are killing the forward motion of the kite.

Hawaiis
Very Frequent Poster
Local Beach: Kailua

Postby Hawaiis » Sun Jun 14, 2015 11:21 pm

When the wind is too light, it will backstall, you need to depower when the wind is too light or too strong.

SupaEZ
Very Frequent Poster
Local Beach: Space coast Florida 5th street
Favorite Beaches: One block from condo
Style: surfboard strap waves transitions
Gear: Boards quads & tri
Kites19-17-12-10-8-6-5 sqm

Postby SupaEZ » Sun Jun 14, 2015 11:27 pm

Do you feel that there is enough wind for the kite size
Generally a 12 sqm requires 12 knots on a medium width TT at 75kg to get you planing