fellipegorys
Rare Poster
Gear: North and Cabrinha
Brand Affiliation: None
Has thanked: 0
Been thanked: 0

Sri Lanka - Kitesurf paradise

Postby fellipegorys » Sat Jul 11, 2015 11:00 am

I'm a Brazilian surfer living in Hawaii, at least I was...until +-1 year ago when I went on a surf trip to Bali, Indonesia, and met the woman of my life. She introduced me to kiting and thought me how to kite. I quit my job and started traveling the world following the wind with her. We are now married and happy with this lifestyle. She's a kite instructor and I'm a kite photographer. This season we are in Sri Lanka and I must say that Sri Lanka is a TOP kitesurf / kiteboard destination, no joke! It's really amazing. The wind has been blowing 24hrs 7 days/week for the last month and it won't stop for the next few months. I'm talking about steady strong winds. It's a perfect place if you're looking for your next kite trip destination. I'm staying at a kitecamp called Kitekuda. Good rates and the best food I've had in this country so far, and I've traveled a lot here already. They have a very nice flat water lagoon right next to the ocean. So you can kiteboard and Kitesurf as you please. It isn't crowded at all, I kite on the ocean ALONE all the time. That's why I'm writing here, so more kiters can come enjoy this place. Sri Lanka is a cheap country with friendly people and good food. The weather is very warm, so forget your wetsuit and make sure you bring sunscreen. Believe me, you won't regret it!

My YouTube channel is https://www.youtube.com/user/fellipegorys

flyingfishza
Medium Poster
Local Beach: Global mostly caribbean and south africa
Favorite Beaches: gonubie reef
Style: Wave
Gear: pivot
Brand Affiliation: Kitesurf hooks

Re: Sri Lanka - Kitesurf paradise

Postby flyingfishza » Sat Jul 11, 2015 7:13 pm

If only it had waves=

Toby
Very Frequent Poster
Kiting since: 2000
Weight: 95 kg
Local Beach: Cumbuco, Brazil
Barra do Cauipe, Brazil
Favorite Beaches: same
Style: Airstyle