Contact   Imprint   Advertising   Guidelines

Do it or don't ? Learn it by yourself...

Forum for kitesurfers
Saferider
Medium Poster
Gear: just getting it...
Brand Affiliation: None
Has thanked: 0
Been thanked: 0

Do it or don't ? Learn it by yourself...

Postby Saferider » Wed Jul 22, 2015 9:58 am

......(skip to page 3 to find the answer)....

First I would like to say „Hello“ to this forum and its members. I am new to the sport, feel already addicted, read a lot here and I am just about to buy my first equipment...

It would be great if some of you could give my some advice based on their experience to make the decision a bit easier for me.

The spot I wanna kite-surf has usually a wind-range of 10 – 25 knots. I am learning about the wind atm and some days I realize lots of wind gusts, but other days it is rather constant. Talking to sailors they also mentioned that the mountains in the back have a great influence to the wind. I also went to the “Safety Topic Sticky” on this forum, to learn more and more...

I am an experienced surfer but on this spot surfing is not possible. The sea is rather flat. At least there are no big waves.

Now to the equipment. I already have a beginner Board. Cabrinah Prodigy 2008 148x40, which I believe will be a good choice for a beginner free-riding the sea around here. I also choose a seat harness, because I believe that I probably gonna stay hocked most of the times.

For the kite and bar, which I haven't purchased so far I am looking at the 2010- 13 Cabrinha Switchblades in 12m or a Best Kahoona in 12m. Probably will go for the Cab. Also the Cab Convert 12 is on my list. Later I think about to add a 9m.

For the bar I am bit unsure as I will probably will get bar and kite separate. ATM I see some good deals on 2014 Cab X-1 bars, which are new and 60% off. I know I can fly the ICS Cabs with this bar but it seems like they handle different.