Gear: 2015 North Neo 9m
2013 Naish Park 12m
Amundson John-O
Brand Affiliation: None
Has thanked: 0
Been thanked: 0

2015 North Neo 1-2 sizes smaller?

Postby dontbealolo » Wed Sep 23, 2015 10:06 am

North advertises that you should buy the 2015 Neo 1-2 sizes smaller then what you normally ride. Anyone have experience with that claim?

bp

IanNJ
Frequent Poster
Local Beach: Brigantine NJ
Favorite Beaches: Brigantine, LBI, Kite Island NJ, Caberate, Hatteras
Style: Wave/freestyle
Gear: Currently rocking a 12/10/8 CORE GTS3 for waves and wake. Cabrinha Velocity 13/10/7 for Foil.
Boards: LF 139 Element with LFK boots and no fins, SlingShot/MHL NF2 Strapless Foil, CORE Ripper 2 5'10", Cabrinha Secrete weapon 5'10", Slingshot 5'6" Angry Swallow
Brand Affiliation: www.NewJerseyKiteboarding.com and www.GreenHatKiteboarding.com

Re: 2015 North Neo 1-2 sizes smaller?

Postby IanNJ » Wed Sep 23, 2015 12:44 pm

I have no experience with North.

That being said, every few years companies come out stating this type of thing. Its been discussed at length. SS admits to having larger sized kites then printed on the wing tip (not a lot but a little) for instance the kite may say 10m but really is a 9.35m then the next year they say its a 10m and its a 10.87m kite. So if that was happening it may feel VERY different. BWS did this when they came out originally. I did a back to back test with the 12m Wainmann Boss and that 12m BWS and the Boss had more power...I got the 12m BWS because it was supposed to have the power of a 14m but did not...

The Neo is a surf kite. Lots of Surf specific kiters rig a size or two down because they are on the surfboard and they are doing more downwinders (at least in this area). They still have enough power to get around but when they get in a wave they can dump all power and more of a true surf experience.