Contact   Imprint   Advertising   Guidelines

Foils Vs SLE kite BS. PMU.why not make a hybrid?

Forum for kitesurfers
Davepalu
Medium Poster
Brand Affiliation: None
Has thanked: 0
Been thanked: 0

Foils Vs SLE kite BS. PMU.why not make a hybrid?

Postby Davepalu » Thu Nov 12, 2015 4:49 pm

Ive been kitesurfing for a few years. Live in West Australia so wind isnt a problem. Yet el Nino means our season is gonna be less than what is expected. Bought a 15m Best TS after promising never to buy a kite over 11m ,3 years ago. Ithe wind is crap so far and Ive been powered and having fun.

I am stoked the way the "wing" flies, no power spike, no stalling at the top. Kites IMO cant fly with a rider on them properly AND relaunch in less than 9 knots. Unless youre an expert. It has limited fun factor.

Build a kite that has a very thin leading edge that can be pumped up to 12psi, 2/3 struts, AND inlets for foil technology at the top of the kite where the high pressure is. .
A small gap at the top of the leading edge at the high pressure point would fill the thin foil to start to work toward accessible light wind fun. Wouldnt this keep the wing more rigid.

Instead of complaining every year like your ex-wifes divorce, Think outside the box :jump: :jump: :jump: :naughty:

CaptainArgh
Very Frequent Poster
Style: freeride, surf, slicks, dwindr exploring
Gear: SS RPM 6, SST 8/10 and Rally 12

Re: Foils Vs SLE kite BS. PMU.why not make a hybrid?

Postby CaptainArgh » Thu Nov 12, 2015 9:57 pm

Davepalu wrote:...Build a kite that has a very thin leading edge that can be pumped up to 12psi, 2/3 struts, AND inlets for foil technology at the top of the kite where the high pressure is. A small gap at the top of the leading edge at the high pressure point would fill the thin foil to start to work toward accessible light wind fun....
Why?
Why must you wake the beast?!?
Attachments
pmu.jpg

Pump me up
Very Frequent Poster
Kiting since: 1999
Gear: Inflatables