Contact   Imprint   Advertising   Guidelines

Kite won't lift to zenith (Flysurfer Warrior)

Forum for kitesurfers
makecoldplayhistory
Rare Poster
Style: Not particularly good!
Gear: Flysurfer Warrior 14m & 16.6m
Brand Affiliation: None
Has thanked: 0
Been thanked: 0

Kite won't lift to zenith (Flysurfer Warrior)

Postby makecoldplayhistory » Sat Jan 30, 2016 5:02 am

First, I'd say I'm an experienced amateur. Lots of sailing in my life and messing around with kites. Experience doesn't mean I'm good, but I'm not bad either.

I bought a couple of big kites at a bargain price with the idea of slowly getting into kite surfing. A Flysurfer Warrior 14m and a Flysurfer 16.5m.

I've tried the Warrior twice. Once, got dragged on my arse as it wouldn't climb to the zenith and hovered in the power zone. I guess about 10-12 knots of wind.

The second time was 5-ish knots, maybe less. The kite inflated but just wouldn't lift. That was both at the edge of the window of the wind and directly down wind.

So, my two questions;

1) what can the reasons be for a kite not climbing to the zenith? Are there a multitude of reasons or simple trouble shooting to go through first?

2) what's the minimum wind required to get the kite flying. Not flying with enough power to even water drag, but just to get it in the air. I've a lesson booked in a couple of weeks, but it would be good to at least practice having a kite attached to the harness, controlling the depower and basically get a little idea before turning up for the lesson.

Thanks in advance,

Mike

flyingcamel
Medium Poster
Local Beach: sandy hook
Style: all rounder
Gear: gin zulu3 13m, 9m
ocean rodeo flite gen 3 17m, 12m, 10m
flite gen 4 14.5
OR razor gen 6 12m, 10m
flysurfer peak1 9m, peak2 6m
cabrina stylus 165
slingshot dialer
slingshot alien air MHL Lift hydrofoil
cabrinha ace 139

Re: Kite won't lift to zenith (Flysurfer Warrior)

Postby flyingcamel » Sat Jan 30, 2016 5:43 am