Contact   Imprint   Advertising   Guidelines

Help me plan a beginner week in South Florida!

Forum for kitesurfers
chidism
Rare Poster
Gear: none
Brand Affiliation: None
Has thanked: 0
Been thanked: 0

Help me plan a beginner week in South Florida!

Postby chidism » Fri Mar 03, 2017 2:29 am

Hey guys, I am a beginner looking to get into kitesurfing and after spending countless hours researching the best way to get started I have some unanswered questions.

I used to live in Florida but moved away for grad school, yet I still spend most of my holidays near an ocean when I go back home.

1)I read that it can take 15-20 hrs for a person to ride upwind over a course of a couple weeks. I was wondering if doing these hours in a condensed time of a week affects the learning curve.
2)I was also wondering what the general consensus is on 4-5 day camps that get you 15-20 hrs of practice.

My general plan was to take lessons over my 1 week break until I felt comfortable with safety/ upwind riding. Then in the summer rent gear and go riding with the same school that taught me and finally look into buying some gear.

Any general thoughts are welcome, my main concerns are safety and having fun.

Mossy 757
Very Frequent Poster
Local Beach: First Landing State Park, Virginia Beach Oceanfront
Style: Kitefoil
Gear: Delta Hydrofoil and board. Cabrinha Velocity 9m, Flysurfer Sonic2 11m, Ozone R1V2 15m

Re: Help me plan a beginner week in South Florida!

Postby Mossy 757 » Fri Mar 03, 2017 3:13 am

Welcome, you'll likely get a ton of responses and various opinions. It matters a lot what you bring to the sport; I was an advanced sailor and snowboarder, intermediate longboard surfer, and lousy skateboarder. I have owned a 2 line stunt kite for about 20 years and it comes out once or twice a year. I was 29 when I started.