Ozone Zephyr
Cabrinha Spectrum
Cabrinha Tronic
Brand Affiliation: None
Has thanked: 0
Been thanked: 0

Modern Type KiteSurfboards

Postby Ozzie » Mon Mar 06, 2017 8:20 am

I have been using twin-tip for 4 years and quite enjoying it. However, I have seen some people on these kind of boards(attch. pics), and they look so fun. Also, they are light wind day saviors. I have never tried any and dont really have much chance to try.

I would really appreciate to see some comments and recommendations. I consider buying one of these types. What are the main differences, advantages and disadvantages of these boards over conventional pointy tip surfboards?

PS: I live in Thailand and usually go to Hua Hin for kiteboarding.
Attachments
IMG_8831.JPG
IMG_8831.JPG (58.53 KiB) Viewed 2635 times
IMG_8830.JPG
IMG_8829.JPG
IMG_8829.JPG (61.23 KiB) Viewed 2635 times

dylan*
Very Frequent Poster
Gear:

Re: Modern Type KiteSurfboards

Postby dylan* » Mon Mar 06, 2017 2:10 pm

Tried one that looks similar to the top two. It was great for messing around in light wind. Goes upwind really well. Horrendous for kitesurfing, not enough rocker and too big of a tail. The screamer might be better but it's way too narrow for the conditions here.

Why are you specifically looking for a board with no nose? There are a lot of great kite surfboards out there and you're really limiting yourself just because it looks "cool" (it doesn't).

cor
Very Frequent Poster
Gear: -

Postby cor » Mon Mar 06, 2017 4:01 pm

dylan* wrote:Tried one that looks similar to the top two. It was great for messing around in light wind. Goes upwind really well. Horrendous for kitesurfing, not enough rocker and too big of a tail. The screamer might be better but it's way too narrow for the conditions here.

Why are you specifically looking for a board with no nose? There are a lot of great kite surfboards out there and you're really limiting yourself just because it looks "cool" (it doesn't).