Contact   Imprint   Advertising   Guidelines

Advice from an older married kiter to a young one

Forum for kitesurfers
fernmanus
Very Frequent Poster

Advice from an older married kiter to a young one

Postby fernmanus » Sat Jul 14, 2018 10:10 pm

I have been kiting for 18 years and I have learned a few things along the way that may help younger kiters in a serious relationship or married.

1. You don't need to teach your wife to kite. In fact, it may be better if she never learns. Let her do her thing and you do yours. Kiting takes serious patience, especially when you are learning. Hey, if she really wants to learn, don't hold her back, but if she is indifferent, encourage her to do other things while you kite. If she does want to kite, don't be her kite slave, let her set up her lines, carry her gear, etc. If you do all of the work for her, you are not going to not look forward to your sessions as much down the road.

2. Don't give a set time when you will return from a session. When she asks you what time you will be back, a good answer is "I will give you a call when I am on my way". The problem is that the wind, gear, or traffic can cause unforeseen delays. It is better to always keep your commitments than to make promises you cannot keep.

3. A good relationship is worth more than a good session. You don't have to kite every time the wind blows. In fact, missing some sessions will fuel your passions more than riding at every chance. If your schedule is limited, pick the very best days to go, don't sacrifice family life for mediocre sessions. Kiting is not the end all, be all of life. It is an amazing sport and hobby, but if it becomes the center of your life, you will live a less fulfilled life.

4. Your best kiting years are ahead of you if you take good care of yourself. Dedicate yourself to your career and your family. When you are older, you will have the time and resources to travel and kite much more than when you were younger.