Style: Chop/ small waves
Gear: Gin quiver
Brand Affiliation: None
Has thanked: 0
Been thanked: 0

South Africa first timer

Postby AlexPK » Thu Feb 07, 2019 11:47 am

Hi,

I was hoping someone could help. I’m off to a Cape Town with the family for a month, not to primarily Kite but to definitely get some in. I’ve been kiting for about 8 years do have a fair bit of experience but massively in my comfort zone of choppy British conditions. Does anyone have any tips for getting on the water in Cape Town? Should I be getting some intermediate lessons to get used to the area/ conditions? . I’m reluctant to turn up at the beach to kite without some good local knowledge. Also if anyone has any non affiliated school recommendations that would be great.

Cheers

Alex

rynhardt
Very Frequent Poster
Local Beach: Langebaan
Favorite Beaches: Langebaan
Style: Freeride
Gear: Cloud C2 17
Hoff Twinwave

Re: South Africa first timer

Postby rynhardt » Thu Feb 07, 2019 12:59 pm

I travel to Cape Town regularly. I've been kiting for about 8 years, so probably rate as a beginner/intermediate kiter.
I've not done anything special as far as getting on the water is concerned. Obviously things to do are:
* check the weather forecast
* go where other kiters go
* be respectful and
* enjoy yourself :-)

Blouberg area has many beaches and parking spots. I prefer Dolphins Beach because it's close to a hotel with a bar, plus plenty of room to travel downwind :-)
Langebaan has a nice main beach, easy parking, great vibe and restaurants close by.
Langebaan Shark bay is also very nice, there's dedicated parking close to the beach. No shops or other amenities though.

In all the cases above I've just rocked up, scoped out, rigged up and rode out. :cool2:

piccio
Frequent Poster
Local Beach: rome
Favorite Beaches: sardinia cape town
Style: wave
Gear: religion 5 6 8
firewire 5 11 maquina 5.9

Postby piccio » Thu Feb 07, 2019 1:47 pm