Contact   Imprint   Advertising   Guidelines

Which 5 or 6m kite you guys advise from Duotone/North?

Forum for kitesurfers
Leon van Bergen
Very Frequent Poster
Kiting since: 2016
Local Beach: Wijk aan Zee, Netherlands
Gear: Duotone Rebel 7,9,11 SLS ‘23 | 14m Juice Dlab | Lieuwe Shotgun

Which 5 or 6m kite you guys advise from Duotone/North?

Postby Leon van Bergen » Thu Feb 28, 2019 9:51 am

Hi all,

I'm looking for advice because I have no experience with kite behavior in harder winds and do not know if 3 or 5 struts matter a lot same with backstalling like the Rebel sometimes does?
At the moment I fly with a 8m & 11m North Rebel 2018 with full satisfaction. Unfortunately I have never flown other models.
I would like to buy another 5 or 6m from Duotone or 2018 North for the hard wind days but doubt whether I should buy another Rebel or maybe a Evo/Dice/Neo?
If you look at the Duotone website, the Evo seems to be the best in everything, but is that really the case?
I Kite very regularly he last 3 years and do freeride, jumps and beginner tricks on my Twintip, no foil.
Hopefully someone can pull me over the line.

Greetings Leon
Last edited by Leon van Bergen on Thu Feb 28, 2019 4:07 pm, edited 1 time in total.

PusherII
Frequent Poster
Local Beach: ostia beach
Favorite Beaches: El Portillo, Las Terranas
Style: Free Ride
Gear: Core XR5
Brand Affiliation: None

Re: Which 5 or 6m kite you guys advise from Duotone/North?

Postby PusherII » Thu Feb 28, 2019 2:04 pm

It really depends on you. For example i own a Core Xr5 (very similar to rebel) and i'm selling cauz i prefear more responsive kite. Will lose some boosting for sure, but i dont think i will have 5 struts kites in the future on my 10m+ kites. It is very possible that in small size every kite is very responsive and funny.

Btw for sure a 5 strut kite is more stable and much better in gusty winds