Local Beach: Yet to find one
Favorite Beaches: Cumbuco
Gear: Yet to buy
Brand Affiliation: None
Been thanked: 0

Cuba or Colombia in March

Postby Matt123 » Mon Mar 04, 2019 9:08 pm

Hi

I have 10 days to head off for some kitesurfing and want somewhere warm to do it. Thinking of Cuba or Colombia, although open to other suggestions.

Prefer to stay somewhere nice, which makes some of the Caribbean's alternatives rather expensive. Flying from the UK with the aim of going at the end of this week early next week.

I am a novice 8 days in Combuco, Brazil, in November last year. Great school, Windtown, and fab instructor, Ricardo. Went from the lagoon to the sea, could get up and stay up OK although cannot turn / transition yet. If it makes any difference I'm a fit 53.

I know Colombia has stronger winds but wonder whether Cuba's wind would be sufficient at my level? Was thinking Cartagena in Colombia, recommendations of good schools and the best places to go there and the same in Cuba would most welcome.

Thanks, Matt

Toby
Very Frequent Poster
Kiting since: 2000
Local Beach: Cumbuco, Brazil
Barra do Cauipe, Brazil
Style: Airstyle
Gear: Rebel 2015 18
Brand Affiliation: None.

Re: Cuba or Colombia in March

Postby Toby » Mon Mar 04, 2019 9:29 pm

Cartagena is great.
Perfect wind direction for beginners (although Cuba should be the same).

In Cartagena you have more or less to decide, if you want to stay further North at the kite beach at La Boquilla or in town.
Although you could also ride south of the center, most kitesurfing is done in La Boquilla, which also offers cleaner winds and easier entry due to more shallow area and smaller waves.

Check Las Americas hotel, it's right at the spot.

Or some charming old hotel in the old center, then with a taxi daily to La Boquilla (not that far).

Never kited in Cuba, know Varadero though from before kiting.