Local Beach: Northern part of Norway
Favorite Beaches: None
Style: Boat
Gear: Peak4
Brand Affiliation: None
Been thanked: 0

Good kite for boat

Postby Munti » Mon Mar 18, 2019 8:19 pm

I know this is not what you guys use your kite for, but I can't find anyone that seems to know much about kites in boat forums. So for now you have to be the expertice for kite as boat propulsion systems as well.
I have been sailing for 20 years, and now I want to buy a motorboat because of the much higher speed. I don't want to give up wind propulsion though, and therefore I'm considering kite. My potential use cases are:
1. Slow sailing (3-5 knots) in good weather.
2. Stabilizing the boat in bad weather (not sure if that is possible with kite, but I do it all the time with traditional motor and sail combo)
3. Emergency propulsion if/when motor failure.
4. Kite and motor combo for increased speed and/or fuel saving
5. Active kite sailing

For 1, 2 and 4 I'm looking for something that requires as little activity/adjustments by me as possible. I'm guessing that means the most stable kite that money can buy? Is there any kite that you can "set and forget"?
Also keep in mind that unlike you guys, I often have a destination. So upwind abillity is rather important. Is that in conflict with the stability I want? And of course, unlike many in here, I never, never, never want to jump.
Another consideration is that the space on a fordeck is limited, so the kite(s) should be as small as possible.
I have been playing with a training kite a little to understand the discussions in here and other places a little better, but I don't expect I'll ever reach the skill level many of you guys have.