Kiting since: 2017
Favorite Beaches: Mauritus, Pointe d'Esny
Gear: Duotone Evo
Brand Affiliation: None
Been thanked: 0

What's the thing with Duotone?

Postby marten87 » Wed Mar 20, 2019 3:10 pm

Hey guys,

I've been observing more and more Duotone/North kites on the spots and I just wonder if they are so good, or it's simply an effect of hype and clever advertisement. I didn't have a real opportunity to ride much on those kites and did only a few rounds on Juice 15, and Dice 10 - didn't see anything special about them (I've been riding RPMs so far). However, I'm not an expert and it was too short period to make an opinion. Therefore, I'd be glad to meet point of view of more experience kiters :)

Ah.. one thing I noticed immediately when jumping onto Duotone Kite was the quality of the lines... Comparing to my current Slingshot bar, they seem to be not really durable. Some googling made me even more convinced in this opinion.

Anyway, looking forward for an explanation, as it's a question, which intrigues me since some time :)

Toby
Very Frequent Poster
Kiting since: 2000
Weight: 95 kg
Local Beach: Cumbuco, Brazil
Barra do Cauipe, Brazil
Favorite Beaches: same
Style: Airstyle
Gear: Rebel 2015 18
Brand Affiliation: None.

Re: What's the thing with Duotone?

Postby Toby » Wed Mar 20, 2019 3:55 pm

They changed the name but the gear only gets small changes.
They were good before, they are good now, that’s why you see many of them.

Leon van Bergen
Very Frequent Poster
Kiting since: 2016
Local Beach: Wijk aan Zee, Netherlands
Gear: Duotone Rebel 7,9,11 SLS ‘23 | 14m Juice Dlab | Lieuwe Shotgun

Postby Leon van Bergen » Wed Mar 20, 2019 3:59 pm