3rd Ave, San Mateo, CA, USA
Favorite Beaches: Lake Nitinat, BC
La Ventana, MX
Style: Mowing the lawn
Gear: Slingshot Rally
Brand Affiliation: None

Houston kiteboarding in April

Postby alexglebov » Fri Mar 22, 2019 3:24 am

I plan a trip to Houston in the end of April and plan on bringing my kites. I would really appreciate information about local spots. I will bring my foil board with a short mast that I can also ride as a small surfboard without foil. I am just learning foil boarding and can do water starts and short rides both ways. I plan to go to Texas City levy spot (The Dike) and I hope it is deep enough for 60cm mast. I have 6m and 7m Slingshot SST and 8, 10, 12 Rally. Do you think 7m and 10m should be good choice for the end of April for foil/surfboard?
Thanks for any info.

alexglebov
Rare Poster
Local Beach: Alameda, CA, USA
La Ventana, MX

Re: Houston kiteboarding in April

Postby alexglebov » Fri Mar 22, 2019 5:26 am

Also, how's the water temperature? Do I need a 3/2 wetsuit, or rush guard is enough? I am comfortable with water 70F and up without wetsuit. Any access fees?

TheJoe
Very Frequent Poster
Local Beach: Texas city levee, Galveston, El Jardine and Crystal beach.
Style: Freeride, Foil, Surf, a lil freestyle
Gear: North Reach 7,9,12
Brunotti TT
Moses 633/483
Dwarfcraft Micro

Postby TheJoe » Fri Mar 22, 2019 9:04 pm

How much do you weigh? Houston winds are the lightest on the Texas coast. Corpus and SPI get far stronger winds than we do. I'm 195 and fly mostly a 12m but that is with a twin. April you should not need a wetsuit maybe a heater top unless you really do not like the cold then a shorty should be good. Water will be a little chilly still but temps should be in the 80s to 90s. We have some deeper spots at the levee where foilers go when the tide is out. There is all so going off the Dike if your not afraid of off shore wind and it's not a weekend. The Dike ends up very crowded on weekends and cars can drive where we rig our kites.