Forum for kitesurfers
Astropupp
Rare Poster
Gear: 2018 Cabrinha Switchblade 11m
Brand Affiliation: None

Waist Harness Bruising Ribs ?

Postby Astropupp » Mon Aug 26, 2019 2:31 am

Hi Guys,
Relatively new to the sport but have been suffering from some rib pain(thought I broke one) after kiting. I'm still a beginner so I've had a couple of nice launches across the water, but it appears to be from the waist harness riding up and compressing my ribs. Anyone else have this issue and what is the fix ?

matth
Very Frequent Poster
Local Beach: Revere, Nahant, Chapin, West Dennis, Hardings , Kalmus, First Encounter, Dog, yerril, Wing
Favorite Beaches: Wing, West Dennis, Kalmus, Chapin, Revere, Nahant, Dog, Horse Neck, Good Harbor, Yerrill
Style: Freeride
Gear: 7m Prodigy, 9.5m Prodigy, 12m Prodigy , 12m Flite, 17m Flite. Crazyfly Raptor Pro Neon, Shinnster,
Mako Duke.

Re: Waist Harness Bruising Ribs ?

Postby matth » Mon Aug 26, 2019 3:36 am

Buy a seat harness or board shorts and ignore the fashion police.. I do love listening to all the claims of why being tugged around by your rib cage or lower back is better than a seat.... :roll: :roll: :roll: :roll: :roll: :roll: :roll: :roll: :roll: :roll:
These users thanked the author matth for the post (total 2):
Astropupp (Mon Aug 26, 2019 4:01 am) • SENDIT! (Mon Aug 26, 2019 8:08 pm)
Rating: 20%

FarQueLot
Medium Poster
Gear: Ozone,Slingshot,my own
Has thanked: 0
Been thanked: 0

Postby FarQueLot » Mon Aug 26, 2019 3:50 am

Harness riding up is because you are letting the kite too high above you and not leaning back enough against the pressure. You should be transmitting pressure through the harness to your feet and to the board.

elguapo
Very Frequent Poster
Favorite Beaches: long bay tci
Gear: ..
Has thanked: 0

Postby elguapo » Mon Aug 26, 2019 4:04 am

brada, are you a "V" shape?....or more of an "O" shape?

tomtom
Very Frequent Poster

Postby tomtom » Mon Aug 26, 2019 8:30 am