Kiting since: 2018
Favorite Beaches: Long Bay Beach Turks and Caicos
Style: Freeride
Gear: None
Brand Affiliation: None
Been thanked: 0

First Gear Purchase

Postby mbrimmer83 » Tue Nov 05, 2019 8:23 pm

I am new to kiteboarding and totally hooked on the sport. I am getting ready to start building my quiver. I have taken about 16 hours of lessons and the last instructor told me that I am an independent rider. I can ride up wind fairly consistently and I can do transitions. I have jumped but spend most of that time falling when I do. Needs some work for sure. I generally have to travel to go kiteboarding. Cape Hatteras is the closest hot spot to me, but I go to the Caribbean fairly often and have a trip planned to Grand Cayman at the end of December. I have a budget to get started with my first set of purchases of $3000 to $4000 US dollars. I have a lot of questions though before I make the purchases. I am generally not sure how to go about building my quiver. I could buy some gear now to get started and then add to it later with an additional kite and/or board. Will have to buy everything that is required to get started for sure. Harness, lines, pump, etc. I could go with some lower end gear and get more now. I am just not sure the best approach to take. Any advise would be helpful.

1) How many kites should I buy initially? (I have read that most travel bags can hold 2 kites, 1 board, lines, pump, etc.)
2) How many boards should I buy?
3) Will I outgrow my gear fast as my skills increase?
4) Should I buy a full set as a package?
5) I have read a lot about Core, but they are fairly expensive, should I go with a little more affordable brand to start?
6) Should I invest more in my first board or the kite (would I replace the kite a lot faster than the board as I increase my skills)?