Style: Freeride/Freestyle
Gear: Core XR4, Eleveight FS, Ridengine Harness, STAR Board
Brand Affiliation: None
Has thanked: 0
Been thanked: 0

Skimboard?

Postby BR-Frontloop » Thu Mar 12, 2020 11:26 pm

Hey everybody,
I've been riding twintip for a couple of years now and want to try out directional boards. I have a skimboard with some grip so I figured it would be good to try with.
However, I consistently fell off after hitting small waves. I also didn't feel that I could carve high enough to tack but that's probably because I've never ridden skimboard or even a directional board before.
Any suggestions?

Thanks

jakemoore
Very Frequent Poster
Kiting since: 2003
Gear: More wing than kite

Re: Skimboard?

Postby jakemoore » Thu Mar 12, 2020 11:57 pm

Ride it some more. Ride it especially in lighter winds and if you have onshore wind and nice flat skim conditions in the beach. I would try little shove it transitions before trying to do a 1-2 step style foot switch or tacks into the wind.

Matteo V

Postby Matteo V » Fri Mar 13, 2020 12:49 am

Keep at it, but skimboards suck overall. I bought a nice one and a cheap one. Both of them wound up being total crap for anything that I wanted. Not to say I didn't have good times, or learn lots on them. I don't think you really gain any strapless kill until you go strapless and finless.

So again, if you have one go for it and really put some time into it. But if you're looking to buy one for kiting, prepare to be disappointed.

Herman
Very Frequent Poster
Style: My Own.
Gear: SLE, foils and C kites, TTs, Directionals, Landboards, Buggy.

Postby Herman » Fri Mar 13, 2020 12:51 am