Rare Poster
Local Beach: Madison,WI
Gear: 14M Switch Nitro 4
Brand Affiliation: None
Been thanked: 0

Booties

Postby RenatoTorres » Sun May 10, 2020 7:44 am

Hi everyone,

I am a beginner and I have not bought my wet suit, hoods, gloves and booties yet. I have found a lot of information about wetsuits on the youtube but I still have some doubts and I would appreciate any help:

1) I know that the wetsuit must be tight to your body, does that also apply to the booties? When buying the booties should I buy the same size as my shoes or should I purchase somewhat smaller so it is tighter to my feet? Do I also need to purchase wetsuit socks or just the booties are fine? Is it possible to buy just the socks? Why do I need both?

2) Do you think it is a good idea to buy this equipment online? For example, I saw that the wetsuit they have different sizes depending on your chest, waist, height, and weight. Is that enough to buy looking at those charts or I should really try it on before purchasing? What is your experience?

Thank you,
Renato

Peter_Frank
Very Frequent Poster

Re: Booties

Postby Peter_Frank » Sun May 10, 2020 8:03 am

Go to a shop and try the booties, they should just fit and very important not too big nor small.

Suit can be bought online, but exact sizing and how it feels, you won't know...

I would buy my first suit in a shop, where they help with type and fit and everything.

And when it eventually wears out, you can get the same online if you prefer, and if it still exists.

I've surfed for more than 40 years, and never heard about a wetsuit sock, so not needed, whatever it is...
Maybe for when using bindings on a wake board?

8) Peter
These users thanked the author Peter_Frank for the post:
RenatoTorres (Sun May 10, 2020 5:28 pm)
Rating: 3.03%

OzBungy
Very Frequent Poster

Postby OzBungy » Sun May 10, 2020 9:23 am

Wetsuit socks are used when you're surfing with flippers and want to keep your feet warm or protect from chafing from the flippers.