Contact   Imprint   Advertising   Guidelines

Doubts about which gear I need for my first equipment.

Forum for kitesurfers
miesro
Rare Poster
Kiting since: 2020
Weight: 75
Local Beach: Delta de l'Ebre
Gear: I rent it for now :D
Brand Affiliation: None
Been thanked: 0

Doubts about which gear I need for my first equipment.

Postby miesro » Wed Jul 22, 2020 10:38 pm

Hello guys, As a beginner I am considering to get North Evo 2011, how is the re-launch going to be compared with more modern kites? In my lessons I am using a newer kite and the re-launch is being really easy.

Would be the re-launch on the evo 2011 easy while using 4 lines?

In general terms, Would you recommend this kite for a beginner or I would progress better with a newer kite?
Last edited by miesro on Fri Jul 24, 2020 3:09 pm, edited 1 time in total.

Blackened
Frequent Poster
Kiting since: 2012
Style: Big Air, Airstyle
Gear: 2020 Rebels
2020 Orbits

Re: North Evo 2011 re-launch

Postby Blackened » Thu Jul 23, 2020 4:34 am

miesro wrote:
Wed Jul 22, 2020 10:38 pm
Hello guys, As a beginner I am considering to get this kite, how is the re-launch going to be compared with more modern kites? In my lessons I am using a newer kite and the re-launch is being really easy.

In general terms, Would you recommend this kite for a beginner or I would progress better with a newer kite?
North (now Duotone) went to a single front line safety in 2015, so if you're looking to buy a kite, then don't buy that one. If it's basically free and you have a giant open area with no obstacles or people, then you could give it a go. Personally, I would go with a newer 3 strut all around as your first kite like a Duotone Evo, Naish Pivot (or Triad now?), North Reach, etc. They have softer bar pressure, easier to turn, much better relaunch, and very forgiving. You will progress quicker with a softer kite, if only because the falls (and supermans!) won't hurt as bad, so you won't lose as much confidence when you have a bad fall.